skip to content

DAAD-Prize 2023 of the University of Cologne

1 / 3
  • Enlarged view:
    Julia Quirll da Matta (DAAD), Dr. Susanne Preuschoff (UoC), Omema Ibrahem (from left to right) Photo:Laura Blome
  • Enlarged view:
    Andreas Wolter, Mayor of the City of Cologne and the award winners from all of Cologne's universities with the universities representatives Photo:Laura Blome
  • Enlarged view:
    Omema Ibrahem with colleagues of the Division International Affairs of the UoC Photo:Dezernat Internationales

The DAAD Prize for Outstanding Achievement by International Students at German Universities for the year 2023, which amounts to 1,000 Euro, was awarded by the University of Cologne to Ms. Omema Ibrahem from Libya/Canada .

In addition to her Master's degree in Linguistics at the University of Cologne, 27-year-old Omema Ibrahem has been volunteering for several years in various associations, especially for refugees. For example, she supports families and children up to the age of 6 in difficult situations at the SKM Cologne (Klettenberg Family Centre). She also supports people in a facility for the disabled as part of the youngcaritas project. Since April 2023, Ms. Ibrahem has been supporting young people in the association "Oase e.V.". From 2017-2018, she volunteered for the organisations "Islamic Medical Association of North America" and "United Muslim Relief" and helped Syrian refugees with translating in medical issues.

The award was presented on 20 October 2023 at the City of Cologne's Town Hall Reception for international students from all of Cologne's universities in the historic Cologne Town Hall. The prize was presented there by Ms. Julia Quirll da Matta, External Communication of the DAAD and by Ms. Dr. Susanne Preuschoff, Director for International Affairs of the University of Cologne.

The DAAD Prize is sponsored by the German Academic Exchange Service and awarded by the universities. The University of Cologne has been awarding it since 1995 and has so far honoured students from over twenty different countries. The prize is awarded to international students for special academic achievements.