skip to content

UoC's Internal Awards and Distinctions

Photo: Thomas Josek, JOSEKDESIGN

Excellent Research Support Program

The ERSP provides three competitive internal funding programs that support outstanding individuals at all career stages as well as excellent collaborative research projects. It is designed to provide support on all levels of research – from individual researchers to large-scale coordinated projects. The ERSP was established as part of the Institutional Strategy (2012-2019) and fosters the strategic development of the UoC.
Further information

University Prize

The University of Cologne, with the generous backing of its alumni network Köln Alumni – Friends and Benefactors of Cologne University, awards the University Prize every year in appreciation of outstanding academic projects or achievements completed within the University. The prize is awarded in the three categories “Research”, “Teaching and Studies”, and “Administration” to individuals who have shown exceptional commitment in these areas. 
Further Information (in German)

Research Prizes

The UoC strongly believes that individual scientific excellence is at the heart of research progress and should therefore be encouraged and rewarded. To this end, one Max Delbrück Prize (life and natural sciences), one Leo Spitzer Prize (arts, humanities and human sciences) and one Hans Kelsen Prize (law, management and social sciences) is granted annually to UoC senior researchers for outstanding research within the last five years. In addition, three UoC Junior Researcher Prizes are granted annually with a funding period of two years for junior researchers who have performed outstanding research within the last two years. Candidates can be proposed by the Faculties, speakers of UoC Centers of Excellence, members of the IS Steering Committee, and former awardees.
Further Information

Schmittmann- Wahlen Scholarship

In remembrance of the Cologne University professor Dr. Benedikt Schmittmann (1872-1939), Cologne University in tandem with the “Benedikt und Helene Schmittmann-Wahlen Foundation” annually awards a doctoral scholarship. The scholarship is presented by the Rector of the University at the ceremonial opening of the winter semester.
Further Information

Albertus Magnus Professorship

The Albertus Magnus Professorship was established at Cologne University in commemoration of the medieval universal scholar Albertus Magnus (1193-1280), who from 1248 until 1254 headed the studia generalia of the Dominican Order in Cologne, counting also Thomas Aquinas among his pupils.
The appointment to this professorship goes to a personage of international renown who in public lectures and seminars addresses issues that play an important role in many fundamental sciences, but also in public debate. Albertus Magnus is considered one of the spiritual fathers of the medieval University founded in 1388.

Further Information