skip to content

Clusters of Excellence

The Excellence Initiative was launched by the German federal and state governments to support outstanding projects and institutions at German universities. The first funding phase started in the summer of 2005. Further projects were granted in the second round, beginning in 2012.

From the second funding phase onwards, the University of Cologne was successful in all three pillars of the Excellence Initiative: In addition to two clusters (CECAD and CEPLAS) and two graduate schools (a.r.t.e.s. and BCGS), the UzK received approval for the Institutional Strategy.

In the Excellence Strategy, the University of Cologne is funded with four clusters of excellence: CECAD - Cluster of Excellence for Ageing Research, CEPLAS - Cluster of Excellence for Plant Sciences, Cluster of Excellence ECONtribute: Markets & Public Policy, Cluster of Excellence Matter and Light for Quantum Computing (ML4Q).