skip to content

Admittance to Coimbra Group

University of Cologne Joined Renowned Association of European Universities


The UoC has been accepted into the Brussels-based Coimbra Group by absolute majority vote of its members. The association fosters the global cooperation of universities and advises the European Commissions on questions of higher education.

The Coimbra Group, named after one of the oldest Universities in Europe, was founded in 1985. Today, it comprises 37 renowned European universities. The network’s aim is to enhance cooperation in order to foster excellence in teaching and research, internationalization, and the impact of science and scholarship on society – an aspect that appears more urgent than ever in light of current political developments. The network is based in Brussels, allowing it to cooperate closely with the European Commission.

The Coimbra Group’s General Assembly decided with a great majority of votes to accept the University of Cologne into its ranks.

The UoC already has bilateral cooperation agreements with almost all member universities – via the ERASMUS+ programme, special research partnerhips, and in some cases even university-wide partnerships.

Membership in the Coimbra Group will allow the UoC to enhance existing cooperation schemes and to shape European educational policy with its partners in the network.

Christiane Biehl
International Office of the University of Cologne
+49 (0)221 470 2769